Osceola School District's Battle of the Books Champions
Osceola School District's Battle of the Books Champions
Posted on 06/02/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Osceola School District's Battle of the Books ChampionsOsceola School District's eighth annual Battle of the Books involved over 48 school-level teams in academic competition, who were assisted by 60 different coaches, over 50 volunteers, and countless parents. The competition, hosted by the Osceola County School Librarians Association and the district's Media and Instructional Technology Department, involved teams being asked a variety of questions from the 15 Sunshine State Young Reader Award books nominated by the Florida Association for Media in Education and the Florida Department of Education. This year’s winning teams are as follows:

High School:
1st place: Celebration High School
Coach: Brenda Allen, Media Specialist
Team Members: Angelica Oberlaender—Captain, Brittany Burton, Shalina Patel, Amaline Chraibi, and Yomna Abdellatif

2nd place: Harmony High School
Coach: Anna Ruth Worten-Fritz, Literacy Coach
Team Members: Nashali Dizo-Velez, Aireanna Lesch, AJ Moore, Jordan Tillson, and Jordan Warner

3rd Place: Gateway High School
Coach: Abbreyell Jessup, Language Arts Teacher
Team Members: Tarid Davies - Captain, Daneila Capobianco, Tyina Gonzalez, and Shalini Robles

Middle School:
1st place: St. Cloud Middle School
Coach: Heather Verreault, Media Specialist
Team Members: Sarah Swim - Captain, K'naiia Richardson, Gabby Chen, Emily Harris, and Adin Korteum

2nd place: Narcoossee Middle School
Coach: Brian Joseph, Media Specialist
Team Members: Amber Browning - Captain, Kyle Browning, Emma DeLeon, Paige Fransen, and Fletcher Small

3rd place: Neptune Middle School
Coaches: Desiree Senter, Media Specialist, and Diana Triplett, Literacy Coach
Team Members: Melissa Padilla, Margaret Bryant, Frank Greller, Alexandra Cabrera, and Aeryn Ryder

Elementary School:
1st place: Narcoossee Elementary School
Coach: Cheryl Davis, Media Specialist
Team Members: Josie Jenkins – Captain, Emmy Ebert, Samuel Riley, Evan Cassidy, and Summer Fisher

2nd place: Reedy Creek Elementary School
Coaches: Misty Haynes and Jay Kuerzi
Team Members: Johana Lander Guariguata - Captain, Diego Levanti Parra, Jamie Lacanilao, Ryan Boufakeer, and Alicia Ventura

3rd place: Mill Creek Elementary School
Coaches: Jennifer Caressimo, Media Specialist, and Shana Young, Teacher
Team Members: Ava McCombs, Diana Santiago, Jade Kotun, Jacqueline Quintana, and Angelina Diaz

Chairpersons of the eighth annual Battle of the Books were media specialists Joyce Meyers at Lakeview Elementary and Tania Galinanes at Thacker Avenue Elementary School for International Studies.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.