What is Home Education / Home School?
Section 1002.01, F.S., defines home education as the sequentially progressive instruction of a student directed by his or her parent or guardian, in order to satisfy the requirement for compulsory education as defined in Section 1002.20, F.S. Current law does not prescribe a curriculum or course of study for home education programs.
What are the steps/ forms to enroll in Home Education?
- Withdraw from current school
- Complete Letter of Intent and provide it to the residing county’s school district.
- Register and enroll in Homeschool program.
Forms may be found on our website visit Osceolaschools.net/choice Click ‘Home Education Information’ on the left side bar
Will my child receive a diploma as a home education student?
No. School districts, adult high schools, and community colleges are not authorized to award a regular high school diploma to home education students. However, a home education student may take the General Educational Development (GED) test at an education center and be awarded a Florida GED diploma if the student receives a passing score. The toll free number for information pertaining to the GED is 1-877-352-4331.
Do parents have access to any state-appropriated funds for Home Education?
No. There are no funds appropriated to a home education student.
What are the responsibilities of parents?
As required by Section 1002.41, F.S., to establish a home education program and maintain compliance with the statute, a parent must:
- Send a written notice of intent to the school district superintendent.
- Maintain a portfolio of records, consisting of a log of educational activities, writings, worksheets, and creative materials used or developed by the student
- Make the portfolio available for inspection by the superintendent upon a 15-day notice. (The legislation does not require the superintendent to inspect all portfolios.)
- Provide an annual educational evaluation for the student’s educational process to the school district superintendent.
- Preserve each student’s portfolio for two years.
- Submit a letter of termination upon completion of the home education program or change of residence.
What is a portfolio?
Section 1002.41, F.S., defines a portfolio as “A log of educational activities which is made contemporaneously with the instruction and which designates by title any reading materials used and samples of any writings, worksheets, workbooks, or creative materials used or developed by the student.”
The portfolio shall be preserved by the parent/guardian for two years and shall be made available for inspection by the superintendent, or the superintendent’s agent, upon a 15-day written notice. The superintendent, or the superintendent’s agent, is not required to inspect all portfolios.
If I hire a tutor to instruct my child, who is responsible for the records?
If the parent is participating in a home education program, as defined in the law, the parent is responsible for all records.
May I use Florida Virtual School (FLVS) for Home Education?
Yes. You will still need to complete a Letter of Intent, maintain a Portfolio, and complete the annual evaluation. Please visit FLVS.Net. Enroll in the Flex program and register for courses. A teacher may be assigned to contact you to activate classes.
How does high school course work transfer to public schools?
State Board Rule 6A-1.09941 establishes a uniform transfer of credit at the high school level as follows: If the student does not possess an official transcript or is a home education student, credits shall be validated through performance during the first grading period.
What does the annual educational evaluation include?
A student in a home education setting must be evaluated once a year to demonstrate educational progress at a level equivalent to his or her abilities. The parent/guardian selects the method of evaluation from those provided in Florida Statute, then files a copy of the evaluation annually to the current county school district. The evaluation must consist of one of the following:
- A Florida certified teacher chosen by the parent/guardian may evaluate the child’s progress based on the review of the portfolio and discussion with the student;
- The student may take any nationally normed student achievement test administered by a certified teacher;
- The student may take a state student assessment test used by the school district and administered by a certified teacher, at a location and under testing conditions approved by the school district;
- The student may be evaluated by a psychologist holding a valid, active license pursuant to the provisions of Section 490.003 (7) or (8), F.S.; or
- The student may be evaluated with any other valid measurement tool as mutually agreed upon by the school superintendent of the district in which the student resides and the student’s parent/guardian.
What requirements must be met by a teacher conducting an annual evaluation?
As defined in Section 1002.41, F.S., a teacher who evaluates a home education student must hold current certification in academic subjects at the elementary or secondary level in the state of Florida. Of the five evaluation options described in the law, three involve a certified teacher.
May I use FLVS transcripts to submit as an Annual Evaluation?
Yes. Please provide our office the complete copy of the Cumulative Academic Report.
Log into your FLVS account. In the upper left corner, click the box with three lines. Click on Student Records then 'Cumulative Academic Report'. Click the Print button at the bottom of the screen.
What happens when a district does not receive an annual evaluation?
Section 1002.41, F.S., requires the parent to provide for an annual evaluation of the home education student. Failure to do so places the home education program in non-compliance and permits the superintendent, after notice to the parent, to terminate the program. Non-compliance with this requirement should trigger the district’s policy regarding non-compliance with compulsory school attendance.
May I use another method to satisfy the annual evaluation component?
No. While a parent may utilize several methods to assess student progress in the regular course of providing a home education program, for the purposes of Section 1002.41, F.S., only one method may be selected and submitted to the school district.
For more information please visit the Florida Department of Education at: https://www.fldoe.org/schools/school-choice/other-school-choice-options/home-edu/parent-resources.stml